How I Got Into Makeup

Hey everyone, I wanted to do a post on how I got into makeup. Hope you enjoy!

 

I never really was mad about makeup when I was younger. I started wearing makeup in first year, so i was around 13, and by makeup I mean foundation… that’s it, maybe some black eyeliner on my waterline, you know, if I was feeling adventurous. Not a brow in sight until i was 20, I used a black eyeshadow to fill in the thin line of brow that i had. HORRENDOUS. On my 21st birthday my Aunty Sandra got me the Naked 2 palette by Urban Decay. I was so excited! When I got around to actually using it I remember saying to myself “what the hell do I do with these”. My best friend at the time was makeup mad, so I was quite blessed she was there to guide me in the right direction. It wasn’t until I got that palette that I realised how much I loved doing makeup. I would spend hours watching YouTube videos, knowing I could never do half of the looks, but I just loved to watch them being done. 

Whenever I had free time, I would practise. When I felt inspired, I would practise. My friend Emma, the makeup wizard, had so much makeup, like crazy amounts compared to my one foundation (that didn’t match my neck with OR without tan), my one eye shadow palette, a disgusting pink lipstick and about 6 makeup brushes. They were Real Techniques brushes which I still love and are actually really good so at least I wasn’t a complete disaster! We went into Dublin one day to Brown Thomas and I purchased my first ever Mac product. Ruby Woo, an unbelieveably beautiful red lipstick. From then on i was hooked.

                         Image may contain: 1 person       Image may contain: 1 person, selfie and closeup

                                   ‘Winged liner & Red Lip’  July 2015 Vs February 2017

Gradually over 2 years I built a good collection of makeup, mostly made up of Mac and Inglot. Where would we be without Inglot though seriously? I did 2 makeup courses in total, and one of them I only finished in January this year. My makeup skills have improved a great amount in 3 years and that is down to hard work and dedication. Whenever I would see a look I loved and wanted to recreate, I would feel so frustrated that I couldn’t get it but I would try over and over again until I did. Still to this day, it bugs me if I can’t do a certain look but the feeling of finally mastering it is unbelievable.

               No automatic alt text available.  Image may contain: one or more people and closeup

                                                ‘Smokey eye’ Dec 2013 Vs Feb 2017

Makeup is a skill. You don’t just wake up one morning and be amazing at playing guitar. You are given the tools and it is up to you what you do with them. You have to work hard, you have to practise, you have to want it. It’s the same for anything, if you want it, work for it. Makeup is my passion, I have put so much work and invested time and money on courses and products to get me to where I am. I want to be as good as I can possibly be, and better.

So whatever it may be, whatever you love to do, never ever let yourself or anyone make you feel discouraged. Maybe today you aren’t as good as you would like to be, but imagine where you could be in a years time?

                                                                 Rebecca xo

       Image may contain: 2 people            Image may contain: one or more people and closeup

                                            ‘Dramatic look’ May 2015 Vs Jan 2017 

 

Leave a comment